Board of Management

Board of Management of Nagle Community College, Mahon, Cork:

Cllr. Terry Shannon (Chairperson) Cork ETB representative
Cllr. Chris O’Leary Cork ETB representative
Mr. Adam Dowdall Cork ETB representative
Fr. Colin Doocey Diocesan  representative
Ms.Mary Scriven Diocesan  representative
Mrs Sandra McCarthy Parent representative
Mrs. Jerry O’ Mullane Parent representative
Mrs. Juliet Moylan Teacher representative
Mr. Graham Manning Teacher representative
Ms. Fiona McDonnell (Principal) Secretary to the Board
Mr. Jim O’Sullivan (Deputy Principal) Recording secretary to the Board

Nagle Community College has joint Trustees:

Cork Education and Training Board (Cork ETB) and the Diocese of Cork & Ross

Agreed Report to Staff & Parents/


 Board of Management of Nagle Community College

Agreed Report of meeting on 4th June, 2019

Minutes: The minutes of the previous meetings, dated April 2nd 2019, were proposed by J. Moylan and seconded by Ms S. McCarthy.

Matters Arising: There were no matters arising from the previous meeting of the Board held on April 2nd, 2019.

Policy Ratification: The following policies were agreed and ratified by the Board;

An RSE Policy and an Admissions Policy.

Child Protection Oversight Report: The Report was presented to the Board and signed by the Chairperson, Ms M. Scriven.

Finance: All financial reports presented by the Principal were agreed by the Board.

Principal’s Report:

The Board was informed of the co-curricular activities that took place in the school since the last meeting. A list of all Continuous Professional Development undertaken by staff members was also detailed.

CPD for Staff included;

JCT Leaders Training, CESC – F. McDonnell and S. Aherne

My Friends Youth Training, NEPS – L. McLaughlin and M. Kind

D-Principals Forum – Performance Management – J. O’Sullivan

Cross-Curricular Initiative Support – PDST – N. O’Keeffe and B. Houlihan

Extra-Curricular Activities for April and May included;

Wheelchair Basketball – 1st, 2nd and 6th Years – F. Liston and K. Flanagan

Transition Year Trip to Waterford – N. O’Keeffe, S. Aherne, D. Whyte and L. O’Sullivan

International Cultural Day – B. Cotter

Variety Concert – Primary Schools and Community – J. Murphy

South Munster Schools Athletics – Boys and Girls – D. O’Mahony and B. Houlihan

Second Year Trip to Ballyhass Lakes – N. O’Keeffe and S. Aherne

Masterchef Competition – Junior and Senior – M. Joyce, A. Hayes and M . Mouroz

Educational Matters included;

CIT Experience Day – TYs – B. Crowley and S. Aherne

JC Home Economics Cooking Exam – M. Joyce

TY Interviews for Meitheal Team – S. Aherne

UCC+ Homework Club Celebration (Aula Maxima, UCC) – B. Crowley

Parents Evening for Students with ASD – F. McDonnell and G. Manning

LC French Oral Exams – D. O’Mahony

Easter School for ten TYs – B. Crowley

CITCO Mentoring final session – J. O’Sullivan and B. Crowley


Sincere appreciation was expressed to all Board members for their tremendous work throughout the year.

Agreed Date for Next Meeting  A suitable date for the next Board meeting will be determined in the coming days.
Proposed by: Ms. M. Scriven.
Seconded by: Ms J. Moylan.


 pp.Ms. Mary Scriven                                                   DATE: 4th June 2019


Nagle Community College

Board of Management Meeting

5th, February, 2019


  • Congratulations to Ms Maeve O’Donovan who was appointed as secretary following recent interviews and to Ms Ann Walsh who is now providing Traveller Mentoring to students.
  • Well-Being continues to be embedded across curricular and extra-curricular activities. A Well-Being Week for all staff and students took place from Dec. 10th to Dec. to 14th.
  • Following an invitation from the Board, the Students Council is currently preparing to run a competition for students on the theme of Litter and are also running four fund-raising activities.
  • At a recent staff meeting, feedback was presented by the school’s eight DEIS groups, encompassing their respective reviews of targets and strategies for 2017-18 and agreed their new targets and strategies.
  • All financial reports presented by the Principal were agreed by the Board.
  • The Child Protection oversight report was presented to the Board and signed by Mr A. Dowdall.
  • The ten point checklist of the Child Protection Safeguarding Inspection document was read and discussed in detail by the Board and the responsibilities of the Board were noted therein. The Board was informed that all parents and students of the school have been presented with a hard-copy of the school’s Child Safeguarding Statement. The Principal and D-Principal have ensured that all responsibilities contained in the Checklist are being addressed (Points 1-5 to date and points 6-10 following the review stage). The Safeguarding Statement review will take place at the next Board meeting on April 2nd.
  • A mobile Phone Policy was presented to the Board and it was approved. A SEN policy presented and approved by the Board.
  • A risk – Health and Safety report was presented to the Board.
  • Two student transfer requests were discussed and agreed by the Board.
  • Four job share requests from staff were discussed and approved by the Board.
  • A staff member recently presented to all staff on the topic of ‘Stretching all Learners’ with an emphasis on Visual, Auditory, Reading and Writing and Kinaesthetic (VARK) learning.


Nagle Community College – Board of Management Meeting

11th December 2018: AGREED REPORT 

  • Congratulations to Ms. S. Aherne who was appointed Programme Co-ordinator and Ms. Juliet Moylan who was appointed Assistant Principal following the recent Post of Responsibility interviews. Ms. Lisa McLaughlin was also welcomed following her recent appointment as a History and English teacher.
  • A whole-school Training day on Teaching/Learning/Assessment and Reporting for the New Junior Cycle took place on November 23rd and there was a JCT Subject Specific Cluster day for all staff on December 6th.
  • All financial reports presented by the Principal were agreed by the Board.
  • A Well-Being Week for all staff and students is currently taking place – Dec. 10th to Dec. to 14th.
  • The school’s priorities list for 2018-19 was presented to the Board.
  • The annual DEIS Plan Report and School Self-Evaluation Report were presented to the Board.
  • A risk – Health and Safety report was presented to the Board.
  • Members of the Students Council presented to the Board on progress to date and plans for the remainder of the year.